Banner
HOME
BOOKS     
    ABOUT     
    NEWS     
       BLOGS     
HANG
FIRE


REVIEWS AND COMMENTS

Fans of Kisor and Steve Martinez will want to read the latest in this series.  But mystery fans looking for a unique and entertaining characters and settings will also enjoy this series.  If you happen to have an interest in muzzle loaders or the Upper Peninsula that will only add to your enjoyment of Hang Fire.
Kevin Holtsberry, Collected Miscellany

“A confident and engaging whodunit. Kisor’s prose is as refreshingly clean and balanced as the hero's investigative style.”
Kirkus Reviews

“This is the fourth Steve Martinez mystery from Kisor, former books editor of the Chicago Sun-Times. His series mines the same territory as Bill Crider’s small-town crime series featuring Dan Rhodes, who, like Martinez, is a thoroughly engaging protagonist. In both series, personal rivalries, quirky personalities, and big-fish/small-pond distractions form a fascinating undercarriage for cleverly built mysteries.”
Wes Lukowsky, Booklist

“Compelling as ever. Hang Fire is taut and clean, tightly plotted, and flows flawlessly . . .  Great fun, a wonderful reflection of Yooper life, Kisor’s series is always at the top of my list.”
Joseph Heywood, author of the Woods Cop mysteries

Return to Hang Fire page